My latest Design Project

Posted on April 13, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

I am helping a family stage their townhouse for sale. In some ways this is an easy task. It is and end unit with a rare 2-car garage. They have a new kitchen (fabulous) and have already put a lot of their things in storage to create a more spacious feel. They have touched up paint, repaired drywall and fixed a patch of wood flooring. They removed a custom built-in desk from the master bedroom and they have somehow convinced their 3 teenage daughters to keep their rooms neat.

They feel like they have already followed a lot of my advice and they are tired. So here comes the hard part. The feedback from buyers has reinforced some of the advice I gave that they did not want to take.

So I walk a fine line between managing emotions that are heightened by stress and telling them the hard truths that will get their home sold (paint the lime green and electric blue kids’ rooms). And what advice can I give that will add the perception of space to two tiny bathrooms (the master bathroom is tiny petite).

I love this kind of challenge. If the solutions were obvious, they wouldn’t need my skills. I will be working with them over the weekend to correct some of the issues. I will remember to take before and after pictures (something I usually forget to do which makes maintaining my portfolio rather tricky)

I would love to hear what was the hardest home-staging advice you ever received and did you follow it? Willingly? Slowly? Reluctantly? Only when truly desperate?

‘Til Next Time,

Make Yours

A Welcome Home

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...