DIY Construction Progress at the Beach House

Posted on January 21, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

We had the luxury of a 3 day weekend so we decided we would relax and unwind work our tails off at our beach house Delaware. 

We had done the demolition at our last visit and now it was time to start putting the pieces back together. 

We studded out a wall to cover the exposed (but not beautiful) brick. We built a new partition wall to create a new bedroom and we filled in a large hole in the former kitchen floor where the island had been inset into the floor. 

At one time this was the exterior wall of the home

This is a view through the doorway to the main living area. The white door leds to a “vintage” bathroom that is a total redo. You can also see part of the new partition wall. 

Here you can see the other half of the partition wall with the door frame. The new bedroom is small but will have four windows. It will be very cheerful.

While all of this was getting done, I also put together and attached two twin headboards (that were under $40 and will be featured in a future beach house edition of “Free, Found or Under Forty“), hung some art  in the new ground floor bedrooms and finally hung the curtains I had bought for the second floor bedrooms. 

We also brought several pieces of furniture I had stored in our garage. I had a dresser, wicker sofa and more kitchen chairs. 

We were so tired that I didn’t get pictures of most of my accomplishments. I promise to do a better job. 

We are home now and I need to focus on some basics like laundry. We plan to get back to the beach house in February to continue our progress. We need to get it all done so we can redo our web site and be ready for the summer rental season (no pressure). 

“Til Next Time, 

Make Yours A 

Welcome Home

I am linking this up at

Winter Home Linky at The Inspired Room

I just linked up with

Make a Comment

Leave a comment

10 Responses to “DIY Construction Progress at the Beach House”

RSS Feed for The Welcome Home Comments RSS Feed

Just wondering where in DE your beach house is… I have friends in Fenwick Island; I’ve visited them a few times, spent some time in Rehoboth, and in Lewes…
Just wondering…

Our home is in a small town North of Lewes called Slaughter Beach. It has no boardwalk, no hotels, no shops (except a mom-n-pop convenience store/bait shop), no fast food (no restaurants).

It does have about 100 private homes (some for rent), a very quiet beach, no traffic, a volunteer fire department, a picnic pavillion and public rest rooms, a protected nature preserve and a playground with tennis, basketball, swings and teeter totter.

We are about 20 minutes from Rehoboth. Your friends may know about our little beach-side “town.

I love it because my kids (all kids really) can play outside unsupervised (they are ages 7 and up). Their favorite thing is to get $1 each to walk to the mini-mart for cereal and candy. It is sooo quiet and serene but we are still able to take day trips to more crowded and exciting places like Dewey, Rehoboth, Lewes, Fenwick and the outlet mall.

Sorry. I didn’t mean to go on so long about it. It is truly one of my favorite places to travel to with my children.

It’ll be fun to see it when it’s done 🙂

I agree. I can already see it all in my head. I am not a patient remodeler.

Can’t wait to see this as it progresses. I would LURVE to have a beach or lake property to redo someday.

Glad you could Mi4M!

Thanks! It is a labor of love. The only way we could afford our dream was to buy a “project house”. We love being able to create a home that fits the way we live. The added challenge is to create a house to fit the way our “guests” want to to live as well.

Can’t wait to see how it all turns out!

Thanks. We are very excited about the possibilities. I intend to document the entire process.

Brings back memories, a Florida house, all good in the end.

[…] Here is the other side of Jill’s post titled DIY Construction Progress at the Beach House.  […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...