An Interview with Meg from PigTown Design

Posted on August 5, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

I am please to bring you a brief interview with local blogger Meg Fairfax Fielding, author of PigTown Design.

Q1:Have you always been interested in interior design? I grew up in a big old house where the design never changed, but it was classic. We painted sometimes, but the paper on the dining room walls was a hand-printed Chinese pattern that had probably been there for 40 or 50 years. My sisters and I were allowed to paint our spaces and we did a bathroom in taxi-cab yellow and lime green.

Q2:I know that by day you are in fundraising. How does your interest in design relate to your professional life?
Since I also do all of the communications and publications for Woodbourne where I work, I am always looking at different publications, like magazines and catalogues, to see what I can learn from them, and use in my design work. I look at trends in typefaces and layout as well as colour.

Q3:What is your personal style?
There’s a style called Rough Luxe, which is very good pieces along with some pieces which aren’t so posh. For example, I have a beautiful Ethan Allan sofa and two lovely yellow ottomans in my living room, but then I also have a steel card file with 30 drawers, which I use for shoes. Since I have an old yellow Labrador, I have to have pieces which can take a hit.
I use my Royal Copenhagen dinner plates along with my cheapie thrift shop Blue Willow ware and my William Yeoward glasses with straws! It’s not unusual to see the dog drinking from an old silver bowl.
 

Q4:What are your 3 favorite Baltimore design resources?

Halcyon House in Greenspring Valley is tops on my list. There is NOTHING in that store that I don’t love! I could move right in and live there. Halcyon carries John Robshaw bedding, which is just gorgeous (as is John!). Stiles Colwill, the owner, has an unerring sense of taste that I’ve admired since we were young.
Gore-Dean in Mount Washington is a close second. Deborah’s taste is superb. I work there every so often, and love to wander around the store looking closely at every single thing she’s got in there. Deb also has a shop in Georgetown in DC.
 

Those are the luxe stores, and the rough is Housewerks, an architectural antiques shop. It’s located in a fabulous old gas pumping station down by the stadiums. The two owners have the most amazing eye for fantastic things – they just got a shipment of big green glass balls which were floats from Japanese fishing nets.
 

Q5: What was your favorite (or most recent) project?  That’s a great question! I was 24-hours away from closing on a house, and then I backed out because of some unforeseen structural issues. I had the entire house planned out, with schematics and layouts. I had the whole place decorated in my mind, and then had to give it up. It practically killed me! So I am house hunting now, and have my eye on a very vanilla place that I can put my imprimatur on and make my own.
One of the things that is very important to me is to have a large workspace, and to have room for a six-foot long commercial kitchen counter I have. It was the only piece of furniture that I kept when I moved abroad! So any house that I buy has to have room for this piece!

Thanks Meg. We all enjoyed getting to know the person behind PigTown Design.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

