Welcome to My Mini Home Tour

Posted on February 21, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

In honor of Transforming Home’s House Tour link up party, I am so pleased to share a small part (the clean part) of my home with you.

I decided to focus on my master bedroom, master bathroom and family room. I do this partly because these spaces represent the rest of my house and. . .these spaces are the neatest. I can’t even think of showing you the sitting room that adjoins my bedroom (also my husband’s home office), my kitchen (I just hosted a slumber party for 8 nine-year-old girls. . .what a mess), or my children’s bedrooms. There just aren’t enough hours to properly stage them for the camera. (I hope to get to them soon)

So, without further delay. . .drum roll please. . .

Welcome to my master bedroom. This space is my sanctuary. I chose calming colors with warm, rich chocolately accents. The curtains are blackout curtains so (if I ever had the chance) I could sleep in after the sunrise. This is also the place where I have my home office. The desk is a vanity that is part of a set of furniture I got from my grandmother. The desk chair was part of a set I found on freecycle and the leather chair was a bargain from Craigslist (it reclines!). You can also see my file cabinet and how I integrated functional storage with attractive art.

master bedroom

home office

home office storage

The french doors lead to our adjoining sitting room. We added these doors a few years ago. These used to be two separate rooms. The sitting room is where my husband has his office (he works from home) as well as a comfy sleeper sofa (a back-up guest room) with a large flat panel television (this is where the hubby and I retreat to in the evening to watch stuff we recorded on our DVR).

french doors to sitting room

The en-suite master bathroom has been featured here before. We remodeled it  and added some much needed square footage. It is now a serene and warm place to begin and end each day. I also created a candelier for this space when I could not find the perfect piece.

Our family room is the first thing you enter as you come in the front door (we lack a proper foyer). I tried to create a foyer space through furniture and rug placement. The focal point is our unique, free-standing, stacked stone fireplace. We use it constantly in the winter and is one of the reasons we bought the house. The family room is gathering place, library, television room, game room and more. I chose all of the wall and trim colors for this space while I was still living on the West coast. I had only seen the house twice and this was a huge design leap-of-faith. The painter once said to me that I had chosen really bold colors…he lacked my vision. The house is surrounded by 60 foot tall trees and gets little natural light. I chose colors that worked well in artificial light and the cold light of winter. I knew white would never work (I agree with Maria Killam).

family room with library wall

free-standing stacked stone fireplace

I hope you have enjoyed my tour. I hope to share more with you soon.

“Till Next Time,

Make Yours A

Welcome Home

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

4 Responses to “Welcome to My Mini Home Tour”

RSS Feed for The Welcome Home Comments RSS Feed

Loved those poppy pics so cute!!~ What a warm looking home you have! I linked up too and have had so much fun this week!!~

Beautiful rooms! Very comfortable and cozy – I would love to relax in there. I love all the bookcases and the french doors. Thanks so much for linking up!

Danielle

Hey thanks for the mention! I appreciate it, the colour looks warm and inviting with lots of atmosphere, I love it!
x
Maria

Looks wonderful. Very warm and inviting.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

