I’ve Got the Mid-Winter Blahs…Time to Decorate!

Posted on February 15, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

I have been having a lot of decorator’s frustration lately. I really want to be working on the beach house but the snow has trapped us at home. All I can think about is finishing walls, floors and paint so I can decorate and take the “after pictures”. 

The blahs have made me ignore my house…but I was inspired by a pair of topiaries I bought at Walmart for 1/2 off! I told myself I was buying them for the beach house but then I tested them out in my family room and I Loove them! This entire tablescape cost me $15. I already had the books and the buddha candle holder was from Freecycle about a year ago. 

Topiary tablescape with buddha candle holder

This success inspired me to look around and try other new arrangements. 

Shell collection displayed on bookshelf 

Grouping of candle holders 

New Orleans souvenier displayed on bookshelf 

I also hung some art I bought on a trip to Puerto Rico last year. I love the texture of the frames and the colors of the art against my family room wall color. 

Trio of pictures from Puerto Rico 

Textured wood frame 

I also bought some new fluffy, white towels for my kids’ bathroom. I corralled their toothbrushes and stuff in a wire basket that was just holding some junk. The change is minor but I think it feels fresher. 

 

We still plan to update this bathroom (lose the wallpaper, add a double sink, etc). It’s on our future “to do” list. 

I feel a bit better now….and they are calling for more snow. 

“Til Next Time  

Make Yours A 

Welcome Home

 

 

I am linking up to Metamorphosis Monday and Make it for Monday

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “I’ve Got the Mid-Winter Blahs…Time to Decorate!”

RSS Feed for The Welcome Home Comments RSS Feed

Very nice. I love your family room wall color!

Thanks. The wall color is actually a faux finish. The color has depth and warmth which is great since the room doesn’t get a lot of natural light.

Sometimes the smallest changes can make a big difference….great touches here and there. I have one of those wire baskets…hmmmm. Got me thinkin’ now. 🙂

It looks nice and “spruced!” I like your gold wall color and the basket on the bathrm. counter.

Love the Puerto Rican pics on the wall. The contrast is great between the dark wood and the wall color.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

