Home Decor “Free, Found or Under $40”

Posted on January 11, 2010. Filed under: decorating |

I am so excited! I had an inspired idea yesterday while driving around with my mother-in-law. We were going around to collect items I was getting from Freecyclers and then a trip to Michaels Arts and Crafts. Suddenly, I turned to my mother-in-law and said, "Eureka!" (no not really) I said "Aha! I have a great idea for my next blog post".

You see, now that I finally packed away my holiday decor, I don't feel inspired yet to create anything new. We are about to go back to the beach house and continue the big remodeling project so I am in DIY limbo. I cna't create anything new until we get there but I want to put up a blog post that is fun, interesting and about how to make your home more welcoming.

So...my brilliant idea is to start a weekly link-up with the theme of "Free, Found or Under $40.

I have many treasures around my house that fit this description and I bet you do too. First, I will share some of mine and then you all get to share some of yours.I think we will all be amazed at how much we have to share.

I am very proud of my treasures. I really live for the hunt. My pulse quickens, my mouth goes dry...I almost prefer "FFUF" to going to the store and buying something at a cash register.

So here are just a few of my favorite "FFUF" treasures.

button tufted sofa in my kitchen

The sofa was FREE! I also have the matching chair. I use it at my desk. The side table was free. I painted it black and added a subtle antique gold rub to the edges.

Round mirror

The mirror was free and I made the topiary for way less than $40.

The way I found most of my freebies is Freecycle! Freecycle is a Yahoo Group that you need to apply to. They are independantly run in various areas. A great way to find treasures or give them away. I also rely on Craigslist.

Another way I have acquired treasures is through the people I meet when I do real estate brochures. I work with a few Realtors and visit their listings so I can write compelling copy to accompany the professional pictures they use in the property brochures. One of the treasures was this table.antique library table

I also once received an entire set of bedroom furniture. I split it up and used it to furnish two of the bedrooms at our beach house.

This beautiful four-poster bed and matching tall dresser (not pictured) were used in this bedroom at the beach house.

The night stands and long dresser with matching mirror on in another bedroom. I will photograph it the next time we are there.

Well, that’s it for my turn this week. Now it’s your turn to share! I can’t wait to see all of your “FFUF” treasures.

Update: I just linked this post to:

Powered by MckLinky

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

9 Responses to “Home Decor “Free, Found or Under $40””

RSS Feed for The Welcome Home Comments RSS Feed

What a great idea! I love both craigslist and free cycle. But you really have to act quickly. I linked up a $10 tortoise home I made from a freecycle and thrift store find.

I’m a big off-the-curb guy but my family knows me too well. They can live with one new (old) thing at a time. I have to prove I can use it or ditch it before I can bring anything else home.

Right now I have a beat up off-the-curb 3-panel screen. I’m pitching to my daughter to use as a headboard. Alas, I haven’t yet made the sale.

Craigslist is the best….freecycle too. I love making old things new again!
Bethany @ Happy By Design

I have a half-circle headboard with large teardrop shaped mirrors on it that I made my husband go get from beside the road. What am I going to do with it? Not sure yet – I recycle stuff for garden art more than house decor. But it was free:)

Hi Again,
I tried to add my link again, but it just kicked me out. Don’t know what’s wrong!

great finds! good tips!

Wow, that is awesome that you were able to get such great pieces of furniture.

wow, cool finds.

Thank you for participating in our “Show Off Your Cottage Monday” moments… hope to see you soon…. have a nice day…

cielo


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

