Bathing by Candle Light

Posted on November 11, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I have a fabulous master bathroom.

That’s not a brag, it’s a  hard-earned relief.

We bought our 1950’s ranch style home when real estate was really hot and we only had 3 days to find a house so we could move from the West coast to the East coast.

We took one long weekend and the youngest of our 3 children (she was still nursing) and we had a wonderful agent who showed us about 15 homes each day.

We chose the house that had the best bones and the kinds of “flaws we can fix” (our real estate buying mantra).

Every one of the 3 full bathrooms and 2 half bathrooms were AWFUL.

I plan to do a full post about the master bathroom remodel at a later date.

When the bathroom was complete I filled it with candles. The only accessory missing was a candelier (a chandelier for candles).

I looked everywhere but couldn’t find one the right size, finish and scale (and price). So I made my own.

I took a very basic traditional brass chandelier (a lot like the one below)

PIC_1409

and then I removed all of the wiring and fake candle stems, painted it with Rustoleum hammered silver spray paint, added the chain and the candles, and hung it in my lovely bathroom!

PIC_1406

It is the perfect accessory and it matches my other fixtures (like my medicine cabinet)

PIC_1407

Best part is that I got the chandelier for free and saved it from the landfill.

I am linking this post to DIY Day at A Soft Place to Land.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

8 Responses to “Bathing by Candle Light”

RSS Feed for The Welcome Home Comments RSS Feed

I love these, I’ve made several myself. I’ve also made a couple of old lamps into candelabras.
yours looks great!
gail

That looks fantastic! Great job!

Nancy

That “new” chandelier looks great! I’m looking forward to seeing your other redos! Thanks for sharing!

[…] on November 16, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | In my earlier post about bathing by candlelight,I refer to my remodeled masterv bath. I promised to tell you more about it so here it […]

Darling! So awesome that your bathroom is finished!

[…] much needed square footage. It is now a serene and warm place to begin and end each day. I also created a candelier for this space when I could not find the perfect […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

