You like me…You really like me

Posted on October 24, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

The response to my first two blog posts has been overwhelming and very positive. I had no idea what to expect but the warm wishes and generous spirit of my fellow bloggers has been fantastic.

I wanted to make sure that I say THANK YOU! Not only to each person who has made a comment but to everyone who has visited my blog just to check me out.

A special thank you to Melissa at The Inspired Room for prominently mentioning (and linking to) me in her blog. I am so flatterred

I also wanted to explain a little bit about the house I have featured in my first two posts.

This is our dream come true….on a budget. We love taking our 3 kids to the beach. We wanted to own something we could use all year for long weekends and summer vacation.

My daughters posing in the surf

My daughters posing in the surf

Long story short, we found this house and it was great square footage and close to the beach (across the street). Plus it had 2 units (one with a tenant). Now for the challenge…it needed lots of TLC. We have ripped out carpets, laid floors, painted walls, changed light fixtures,and on and on.

I furnished it with finds from Craigs List, Freecycle, Walmart, Target and Odd Lots. I had to strike a balance between making it feel like home and making it a place that we could rent out to others (that means nothing too precious, too delicate, too expensive, etc.)

Guest Bedroom - Before

Guest Bedroom - Before

I chose a style that is not familiarb to me (beachy, light, blues/yellows/white).

Guest Bedroom-After

Guest Bedroom-After

This guest bedroom features a four poster bed and matching dresser that I got for FREE! I have the night stands and the other dresser with mirror in the master bedroom (I’ll show that another time). I was doing a real estate brochure for a house about to go on the market. The homeowners said they would be getting rid oft heir bedroom set. All I had to do was say please (and bring 2 SUV’s and 3 strong friends).

There are more ceiling fans to change (like this one in the guest room) as well as curtains to hang to soften the windows but what you can’t really see are the new lamnate bamboo floating floors! My handy hubby laid all of the new flooring himself with a little help from friends.

It has been lots of fun and we still have so much to do but we are able to enjoy it and share it with our friends, family and guests.

I will feature many projects and challenges that we have (or will) overcome in this house. I hope you enjoy it and get inspired.

Til Next Time,

Make Yours A

Welcome Home

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

